CRA’s National Council is the governing body of CRA. Members are elected at the National Assembly of Leaders by leaders or co-opted by Councillors. The National Council normally meets six times per year.

Br Peter carroll fms, CRA PRESIDENT

Peter was appointed the Provincial of the Marist Brothers Province of Australia in early 2015, and assumed the role in September 2015. He was elected for a second three-year term in September 2018.

Prior to this, he was the Vice Provincial from 2012 when the former Marist Provinces of Melbourne and Sydney merged to form the new Province of Australia.

As Provincial, Peter has overall responsibility for the Brothers and their communities and for the newly founded Marist Association of St Marcellin Champagnat.

Peter has had lengthy experience in education. He has been Principal of three schools: St Peter Claver College in Ipswich Queensland, Marist College North Shore in Sydney and Trinity Catholic College in Lismore.

As Vice Provincial and then Provincial, he was involved with the Royal Commission throughout the course of its life, and appeared as a witness at two of its Case Studies.

Peter has been a member of the CRA Council since 2016 and was elected President of CRA on 19 June 2019. 


The President works collegially with the members of the National Council, who are:

Anne Boyd.JPG

Anne Boyd csb
Congregational Leader
Brigidine Sisters

Eveline Crotty.jpg

Sr Eveline Crotty rsm
Institute Leader, Institute of the Sisters of Mercy of Australia and Papua New Guinea

Patty Fawkner.jpg

Sr Patty Fawkner sgs
Congregational Leader, Sisters of the Good Samaritan

David Hawke.jpg

Br David Hawke fsc
Provincial of the De La Salle Brothers of the District of Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Papua New Guinea

Sue Flood.JPG

Sue Flood osu
Congregational Leader
Ursuline Sisters

Mary-Clare Holland.JPG

Sr Mary-Clare Holland op
Prioress, Dominican Sisters of Eastern Australia and the Solomon Islands

Peter Jones.JPG

Peter Jones osa
Congregational Leader, Augustinian Fathers

Tom McDonough.jpg

Fr Tom McDonough cp
Provincial, The Passionist Fathers

Paul O'Keeffe.jpg

Br Paul O'Keeffe fsp
Province Leader, The Patrician Brothers

Noreen Reynolds_4.jpg

Sr Noreen Reynolds op
Prioress, Dominican Sisters of North Adelaide

Matthew Williams.JPG

William Matthews sdb
Congregational Leader, Salesians of Don Bosco

Clare Nolan.jpg

Sr Clare Nolan rsc
Congregational Leader, Sisters of Charity Australia

Catherine Reuter.JPG

Catherine Reuter rsm
Congregational Leader, Sisters of Mercy, Brisbane

Lucy Van Kessel.jpg

Sr Lucy van Kessel pbvm
Congregation Leader, Presentation Sisters
Western Australia